Podcasting

· Tim's Blog

A couple of months ago, I got into podcasting, and man did I. In a few weeks, I had half a dozen show ideas and was blathering all over the interwebs. I had no clue what I was doing or why; I just wanted to podcast.

Since then, I have realized how much work is needed to create just one podcast. It's quite a bit if you want to do it right, and I still don't. As the Podcasting 2.0 crowd says, "I'm running with scissors." But I'm trying to create something that may be useful to some. So I narrowed it down to two shows.

The first is No Expectations. This show will be my place to ramble. It is almost always about something tech but has no real plan. It's a place to voice my thoughts on anything, whether corporate tech, the distro wars, why I suck at programming, or whatever floats my boat at the time. I think it's a great way to practice public speaking.

The second is the Apple on Tech podcast. For this one, I'm using my last name to confuse people, and it has nothing to do with anything Apple computers. It's just my last name. On this show, I am building an RSS feed of applications, projects, distros(these all may be the same thing, but you get the gist), and so forth. The show is me updating the audience on whatever popped up in the feed that week from those sources, news items, releases, and so on. I hope this interests folk and allows them to hear about some of their favorite projects without stalking the project website themselves. I am also taking audience recommendations for projects to follow, Windows or Linux. The main thing is I'm focused more on enthusiast/geeky items. I want it to be stuff that makes using the computer fun and less about what we are forced to do to make money. If you have ideas, you can mail the show here.

So that is the plan for now. I am doing the whole podcasting 2.0 valu4value thing. I won't get into it too much, but you can donate to the shows through the websites using the Alby extension or while listening on any of the Podcasting 2.0 apps.

I welcome input, so if you give either a listen, please provide feedback. Negative is ok; don't be too brutal..lol. Well, wish me luck!

Cheers!